top of page

Compliment Salad

If you're wondering whether my mail bag is just full of happy, grateful readers, then think again. I get all sorts of reviews, so I'll add one of the luke-warm ones here for balance.

Now, I was always taught to provide critique as a "compliment sandwich": compliment, criticism, then another compliment. Apparently it gives your criticism more weight and makes the recipient less defensive. I always thought it was weird, because the middle of a compliment sandwich is a criticism, not a compliment. It should be a "criticism sandwich".

Anyway, this reader didn't learn critiques the same place as me, because if the compliments are the bread, then this is a compliment salad ... but there is a crouton on top, so that's something, right?

The Lingerie Tester

This was a delightful little tease. The female protagonist was quite well developed and I was able to get into her head. The sex was not hot, more of touching forbidden boundaries. The final sex with her husband was nice, but not mind-blowing, quite appropriate for the tenor of the piece.

On the down side: It had poor paragraph separation. And the font was difficult: I had to cut and paste into Times New Roman to read.

The reader is required to engage in serious suspensions of suspension of disbelief: the husband and wife relationship is a bit odd and if you try lingerie on, you generally have to buy it.

Well, at least it was a delightful, little tease. Like me :-)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page